Centenary Classics Jacket Image
List Price:
Discount Price:

Read an extract from ‘Rising Out’ in Ireland’s Own, December 2015Read a piece by Fearghal McGarry on the Centenary Classics in the Irish Examiner, 21 March 2016

Centenary Classics

Fearghal McGarry (series edited)
Darrell Figgis (series edited)
Joseph Johnston (series edited)
Padraig De Burca (author)
Ernie O'Malley (author)
Mossie Harnett (author)
Patrick Sarsfield O'Hegarty (author)
Paperback / softback,
Publication date:
31st October 2015

Author Biography

Darrell Figgis (1882-1925) was a journalist, author and nationalist propagandist. Joseph Johnston (1890-1972) had a distinguished career as a Fellow of Trinity College Dublin and as a Professor of Applied Economics; he served in the Irish Senate on several occasions, and on various government commissions on agricultural topics. Padraig de Burca (1893-1975) was Chief Leader Writer and Literary Editor of the Irish Independent. In 1931 he was called to the Irish Bar and was recognised by the Law Library as an expert in the law of landlord and tenant and the law of defamation. Of his co-author, John F. Boyle, little is known. Ernie O'Malley (1897-1957) is best known as a prominent officer with the Irish Republican Army during the Irish War of Independence and took the Anti-Treaty side in the Irish Civil War. Mossie Harnett (1893-1977) was a farmer in Limerick and a Limerick County Councillor before moving to Dublin in 1939. P. S. O'Hegarty (1879-1955) was an active member of the Gaelic League and other Irish nationalist organisations as a young man. A prolific writer, he founded the Irish Bookshop in Dawson Street, Dublin. SERIES EDITOR. Fearghal McGarry is a lecturer in Modern Irish History at Queen's University Belfast.


The Centenary Classics contains six titles in this special edition series. The year 2016 marks the beginning of the centenary period of the Irish Free State's establishment. This beautifully produced limited edition series examines the fascinating time of change and evolution in the Ireland of 100 years ago. Each volume is a first-hand account of individuals or events during the 1913-23 revolutionary period. They are each introduced by leading experts and academics in the field - giving a contemporary analysis of the original text - while a general series introduction by Fearghal McGarry sets the scene of the period. The complete series collectively tells the story of the birth of the Irish nation and consist of the following six titles: 978-1-906359-94-2 A Chronicle of Jails - Darrell Figgis; 978-1-906359-95-9 Civil War in Ulster - Joseph Johnston; 978-1-906359-96-6 Free State or Republic? - Padraig de Burca and John F. Boyle; 978-1-906359-97-3 Rising Out - Ernie O'Malley; 978-1-906359-98-0 Victory and Woe - Mossie Harnett and 978-1-906359-99-7 The Victory of Sinn Fein - P. S. O'Hegarty.