Hold Open the Door Jacket Image
List Price:
Discount Price:

Readings from Hold Open the Door

Hold Open the Door
Commemorative Anthology from the Ireland Chair of Poetry

Summer Meline (editor)
Marcella L.A. Prince (editor)
Frank Ormsby (editor)
Nidhi Zak/Aria Eipe (editor)
Publication date:
10th December 2020

Author Biography

Micheal McCann is from Derry. His poems appear in fourteen poems, Poetry Ireland Review and The Manchester Review. His first pamphlet of poems - Safe Home - is published by Green Bottle Press, and he was a grateful recipient of an ACES award from the NI Arts Council in 2019. Summer Meline is a writer from Northern California and lives with her family. Nidhi Zak/Aria Eipe is a poet, pacifist, and fabulist. She is the founder of the P[l]ay It Forward Fellowships, advisory board member of Ledbury Poetry Critics Ireland, and Next Generation Artist with the Arts Council of Ireland. Her debut poetry collection is forthcoming with Faber & Faber in 2021. Marcella Prince grew up in Wisconsin. Her poems appear in literary magazines including The Tangerine, The Open Ear, and The Lonely Crowd. She is studying at Queen's University Belfast for a PhD with a focus on Midwestern-American poetry.


Offering an intimate look at the vast influence of Ireland's extraordinary literary heritage, Hold Open the Door: A Commemorative Anthology from the Ireland Chair of Poetry highlights how a new Irish poetry is coming to stand alongside the tradition from which it has grown - leaving that tradition enriched and transformed.The Ireland Chair of Poetry Commemorative Anthology celebrates the 25th anniversary of Seamus Heaney's Nobel Prize Award, and the subsequent legacy created by the Ireland Chair of Poetry.This contemporary anthology features original poems and essays from some of the most exciting new and emerging Irish poets as they reflect on the formative value of mentorship and creative exchange, drawing inspiration from renowned poets and artists across the island of Ireland and beyond.The collection is collated and edited in collaboration with Frank Ormsby.Frank Ormsby serves as the current Ireland Chair of Poetry. His most recent collections include The Rain Barrel (Bloodaxe Books, 2019) and The Darkness of Snow (Bloodaxe Books, 2017). He has previously been editor of The Honest Ulsterman and Poetry Ireland Review. In 1992, he received the Cultural Traditions Award, and in 2002, the Lawrence O'Shaughnessy Award for Poetry.