No Authority Jacket Image
List Price:
Discount Price:

No Authority
Writings from the Laureate for Irish Fiction

Anne Enright (author)
Publication date:
11th January 2019

Author Biography

Anne Enright is the author of six novels, two books of short stories, and a book of essays. Her writing has appeared in the New York Times, New Yorker, Paris Review, London Review of Books, and Guardian. In 2007, she won the Booker Prize for her novel The Gathering, and, in 2015, she was the inaugural Laureate for Irish Fiction. Her next novel, Actress, will be published in 2020.


In three urgent pieces of non-fiction Anne Enright explores speech and silence in the lives of Irish women: the long silence surrounding the Mother and Baby home in Tuam which was broken by the voice of Catherine Corless, the silence of Irish literary critics in response to work by women, and the reclaimed voice of the Irish writer Maeve Brennan.The short story form is celebrated with two new pieces of writing, and a biographical piece looks at the role of Canadian fiction in her reading life.